When searching for statistics, try to consider which organization would be interested in or required to collect the information. Then try to find those organizations to see if they do indeed make such data available.
National Data Book (Statistical Abstract) HA 202.U5
State Rankings 2010 HA 214.H68
The Information Plus Series is available behind the reference desk and online through Opposing Viewpoints in Context. This series compiles data, both current and historical, on a wide variety of contemporary social issues.
Washington State Statistics
Washington State Data Book
Information obtained from state and federal agencies as well as private business on Washington, its people, economy, and government in 11 sections: Population, Economy, State Government Finance, Human Services, Criminal Justice, Education, Natural Resources, Environment, Energy, Transportation, and Local Government.
City and County Data for Washington
Links to information about Washington counties, including collections of general information as well as a variety of sources dealing specifically with population, the economy, and county government finance
As the official partner of the U. S. Census Bureau for Washington state, the Population unit helps disseminate information about the characteristics of Washington’s population, housing, and economy.
State economic, demographic, and social trends
Washington Health Data
Washington Dept. of Health
Washington Statistical Analysis Center for Criminal Justice Information
A clearinghouse for state criminal justice information such as arrests, felony sentences, incarceration, and sex offenders.
Washington Transportation Maps and Data
Collision, travel, and roadway data
Washington State Data
Search and browse hundreds of datasets related to Washington
Washington State Geospatial Portal
Access to geospatial technology resources, products, and services for schools, state agencies, counties, cities, tribal governments and the public
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government. More than 100 agencies provided data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, the Statistic Abstracts contain comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S.
Bureau of Economic Analysis. The BEA produces and disseminates economic accounts statistics that provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of economic activity.
Economics & Statistics Administration
ESA’s expert economists and analysts produce in-depth reports, fact sheets, and briefings on policy issues and current economic events. Includes economic indicators.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The BJS is the primary source for criminal justice statistics in the United States. The site provides links to publications, data collections, data analysis tools; related links to topics such as corrections, courts and sentencing and crime type; and a link to other federal agencies which fall under the Department of Justice, e.g. the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), U.S. Citizen and Immigration Services, and U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
Monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The mission of the NCES is the collection and analysis of education related data. Among other features, the site provides links to publications and surveys, data and data analysis tools, and annual reports.
United Nations Statistics Division – Access their publications as well as their data.
UN Data – Search a number of UN statistical databases from a single search box. Search for statistics from all UN member nations on commodities, agriculture, health, greenhouse gases, development, gender, labor, population, tourism, food security and more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics – “…cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication….”
Washington State Government Documents
The nearest depository library for Washington State government documents is Western Washington University, in their Government Documents collection.
Washington State Government Documents – a guide from WSU
WWU Government Document Subject Guide
Western is a depository library for U.S. government publications. The federal government sends WWU thousands of publications, which the university promises to make available to the public. Western has been a depository since the 1960s and has hundreds of thousands of federal publications. Western is also a depository for Washington state and Canadian federal documents. Open Hours
FDsys.gov (Government Printing Office)
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to information produced by the Federal government, including Congressional bills, U.S. Code, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, GAO reports, Supreme Court decisions and much more.
An interactive, searchable database maintained by the Census Bureau, includes Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and other data sets. Allows users to compile census data into tables, maps and downloadable files, which can be viewed or printed.
The US Census Bureau publishes much more than just the Decennial Census! Here are a few of its other offerings.
Citing Government Documents:
Always try to cite from the original source for statistics as opposed to where you have found the information.