Want to know what music CDs we have in our collection? Take a look at these spreadsheets. The first is the current CD list in author (composer) order, and the second is of CDs of American music only (compilation CDs with American music might not be listed here).
The audio CD collection is, as of May 2012, found on the Main Floor of the library along the north wall.
- Type: Musical Recording, Non-musical Recording, or Music Score
- Format: Sound Recording
Note regarding videos: Musicals are found with call numbers beginning with PN1995.9 .M86 (not in the M (music) section.)
More on Finding Music in our library:
The Library of Congress Classification System lists Music materials under the letter ‘M‘ (other letters in the LoC system don’t match up this way!) ML=literature, MT=instruction
Grove’s Dictionary of Music and Musicians – ML100.G8863 2001. Newer edition is in Reference. An older version of 20 volumes is available for check-out in the stacks.
Reference Books are on the main floor of our library and give excellent subject overviews. These include encyclopedias, statistics, specialized dictionaries, and handbooks. Though they can not be checked out, they can be photocopied. Materials for check out are on the top floor in what we call the Stacks. Note the location indicated in our catalog.
Periodicals: on the main floor of the library, along the north wall.
Full-text access to databases of electronic periodicals is via the Articles / Databases page.
Other online Reference Sources to consider:
We also have Contemporary Literary Criticism and a couple other Gale Literary Databases which do include music. You can restrict your search to specific genres and nationalities.
- Internet Public Library – music links – see also exhibits, for Music 102, and their pathfinders for composers, and for afro-american musicians
- Intute – Arts & Humanities – Music – Sites annotated by librarians
Acoustics of Music
Acoustics information for various instruments, from the Univ. of South Wales, Australia
Free printable staff paper @ Blank Sheet Music .net
Print blank sheet music for free, supports guitar and bass tabs too, ready-to-print sheets in a few seconds, no software to download and install, no watermarks on prints, requires Flash plugin.
The Science of Music
From the Exploratorium.
Art and Analyses of Film Sound Design
Hymn Tune Index
Compiled by Nicholas Temperly. The HTI seeks to contain all hymn tunes printed anywhere in the world with English-language texts up to 1820, and their publication history up to that date.
The Aria Database – Main IndexTheme Finder
Themefinder is a non-profit collaborative project of the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities (CCARH) at Stanford University and the Cognitive and Systematic Musicology Laboratory at the Ohio State University.
Classical Composers Database
Compiled by Jos Smeet and visitors to the site.
Sites for Musicologists
American Musicological Society.
Center for World Music
A nonprofit with the mission to foster understanding of the world’s performing arts and cultural traditions.
World Music: a magazine of world music, roots and folk music, the most extensive collection of articles, reviews and audio features on the internet is all in Roots World.
The Portal of African and Caribbean Cultures
The Portal of African and Caribbean Cultures : news, music, arts and culture, society, travel.
Archive of Popular American Music
UCLA – a digital sheet music collection, with some recordings too.
Negro Spirtuals River of Song – contemporary Mississippi
The Mississippi: River of Song is a Smithsonian Institution series for public television and radio that explores contemporary music along the Mississippi.
The Blue HighwayJive DictionaryAll About JazzThe Red Hot Jazz Archive
A history of Jazz before 1930. This site contains over 2000 songs from this era in Real Audio 3 format, as well as hundreds of biographies and discographies of Jazz musicians.
Jazz Standards, Jazz History, Musicology, Biographies and Books
JazzStandards.com: The premier site for the history and analysis of the standards jazz musicians play the most.
Music Library Association on Copyright
Copyright for music librarians.
Alan Lomex Collection
Library of Congress – From the site, which “comprises ethnographic documentation collected by the legendary folklorist over a period of sixty years”.
Loeb Music Library
Harvard – some resources freely available. See the Online Resources for Music Scholars link.
Musical Biographical Resources on the Web
Yale University maintains this list of links. In addition to There are links to sites of biographical information, and composers listed by genre, instrument, and geographical area. It includes links to publishers’ catalogs,
Read biographies, play games, watch interviews and video clips at Biography.com. Check out our Born On This Day, Deathiversary, and Black History sections. Visit The Biography Channel for great TV shows like BIOGRAPHY, Notorious, I Survived…, and more.
Online Collections and Presentation (The American Folklife Center, Library of Congress)
Online Collections and Special Presentations. The American Folklife Center provides online access to selected portions of our collections. We create our own online presentations on various topics and the American Memory project provides additional online access to selected collections. Online content may include audio samples of music and stories, digital images of rare letters and photographs, and video clips. To use the featured collections in their entirety, please visit our Collections & Research Services page for information about doing research in our Reading Room. American Folklife Center, Library of Congress.
Beethoven-Haus in Bonn
Beethoven museum and digital archives.
Sheet Music Collection
The Lester S. Levy collection of American sheet music. Johns Hopkins