Math

 

In the LibraryDatabases and eBooksWeb Links

Call Numbers

Math is shelved at QA.

Search in our online catalog for items on the Subject mathematics. There are many related subjects and narrower subjects, such as algebra, or calculus.

 

Reference Books

  • Notable Mathematicians: From Ancient Times to the Present. Ref. Coll. QA28.N66 1998

You will also find information about mathematics in more general encyclopedias such as

  • McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Ref. Coll. Q 121.M3 2007

 

Calculators

The WCC Library hosts a collection of calculators — see details on our Circulation Policies page.

Articles

WCC Library does not subscribe to any databases focused specifically on mathematics. However, our Science and Interdisciplinary databases include some content related to math. See the “By Subject” tab of our Databases page for those lists of databases.

One of the best databases is arXiv, a free database of articles in several technical disciplines, including mathematics.

eBooks

eBooks on mathematics are also available in three databases:

  • ebrary – off campus link
  • eBook Collection
  • Credo Reference
  •  WCC’s Online Math Center maintains a comprehensive collection of web links related to learning math.

     Wolfram|Alpha is a search tool that can be used to do advanced math. See their Mathematics examples for ideas on how to use the tool.

    Jon McConnel

    Jon is our Reference Librarian specialist in maps, geography, math, and many of the sciences. He also does a lot with the website.