Health Sciences
Reference Books
Encyclopedias
| Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine | RC 41 G53 1999 (6 vol.) |
| Encyclopedia of Nursing Research | RT 81.5 E53 2006 |
Diagnostic Manuals, Dictionaries & Handbooks
| Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: an evidence-based guide to planning care | RT 48.6 A35 2008 |
| Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research | RT 81.5 P69 2006 |
| Infectious Diseases: In Context | RC 111 I516 2008 (2 vol.) |
| Human Diseases & Conditions | RC 81 A2 H75 2000 (3 vol.) |
| Nursing health assessment : a critical thinking, case studies approach | RT 48 D54 2007 |
| Diseases & Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual | RT 51 S66 2002 |
Library of Congress Call Numbers: Health-related Subjects
| Human Anatomy | QM | Internal Medicine | RC | |
| Physiology | QP | Nursing | RT | |
| Pathology | RB |
eBooks
Contains a Health and Medicine category.
Journal article and research databases
(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
For health or medicine aspects of science. Over 600 full text periodicals.
New to CINAHL? View our quick tutorial (2:27min).
Nursing / Academic Edition. Has nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Find complete, full-text information from covering numerous aspects of family health from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Contains a wealth of resources from newspapers, magazines and audio-video products on all aspects of medical sciences. Browse to Topics > Science > Health & Medical Sciences.
For general academic research.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health’s Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand (FAQ’s).
Introduction to Muscle Physiology and Design
From the National Skeletal Muscle Research Center.
Learn.Genetics
Developed at the University of Utah’s Genetic Science Learning Center, this site provides introductory materials about genetics and educational modules on current findings.
Newswise – Medical News
Recent press releases on medical topics. Find info. about recently published studies from the researchers and sponsoring institutions.
National Human Genome Research Institute
Covering biomedical research and genetic components of complex disorders. Includes a ‘Talking Glossary’.
American Association of Anatomists
Under the educational resources section there are atlases, tutorials, and dissections, along with many biology links.
LUMEN
Web resources on the structure of the human anatomy.
Winking Skull
Interactive online human anatomy resource. Registration required.
PhysiologyInfo.org
From the American Physiological Society, information and current research about physiology.
Multimedia Medical Encyclopedia
From the University of Maryland Medical Center.
HealthLinks.net
An online Healthcare Information Portal — Directory and Guide.
Medscape
From the WebMD company, a “leading provider of health information services, serving consumers, physicians, healthcare professionals, employers and health plans.” Registration required.
Lippincott´s Nursing Center
Powered by more than 50 of the leading peer-reviewed nursing journals, including the American Journal of Nursing, Nursing2011, Nursing Management, The Nurse Practitioner, Nursing2011 Critical Care, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins initially created this website to help spread clinical information to nurses in rural areas who would otherwise not have access to the latest journals and technology. Registration required.
Atlas of the Body
From the AMA – a great introduction.
Google Scholar
Search for articles, theses, books, and abstracts, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories. If an article is not available through WCC Databases, please request an interlibrary loan.
