eBooks & downloadables
WCC Library has eBooks and downloadable audiobooks available for students, staff and faculty. We have a large range of titles to choose from, everything from the classics like Jane Austen to computer technology manuals. We also support a variety of formats (WMA, mP3, ePub, .PDF) that can be used on a wide range of devices (Nooks, Sony eReader, Kindle, Android, and more).
Our librarians are available to assist you in connecting to and downloading content.
eBook Collection – EBSCO
Read EBSCO eBooks in your browser by clicking the “eBook Full Text” link below each book title in your results list, or …
Download EBSCO eBooks onto your portable devices or to read offline
1. Sign in to your My EBSCOhost account. If you don’t have one, you’ll need to make one.
2. Click “Download” from your results list (or from a detailed record view).
3. Select your preferred checkout period and click “Checkout & Download”.
4. A window will prompt you for which program to use to open the eBook. You will need to have Adobe® Digital Editions installed on your computer to read or transfer your eBook to your eReader.
4. Drag and drop titles to your portable device (list of supported devices)* from within Adobe® Digital Editions.
5. Read offline at your desktop or with an eReader. Enjoy!
Additional information on eBooks can be found in EBSCO Help
*In order for a portable device to be used with eBooks on EBSCO, it must be compatible with Adobe® Digital Editions (available for free).
A growing collection of eBooks from ebrary is now available spanning many academic subject areas.
Download an entire eBook for up to 14 days in Adobe® Digital Editions format.
Kindle users can download up to 60 pages as a .pdf for use on their Kindle device or app or any .pdf enabled device.
Please see the “Quick Guide” and the training video, or visit the online training site for further support and troubleshooting.
Some of the eBooks the library subscribes to can only be read online — downloading isn’t an option for these.
Searchable Collections
Additional Single Titles
-
Washington State Library’s listing of free eBooks, including Bookboon, Feedbooks, and more.
-
Google Books – Digitized books and periodicals. Use the Advanced Book Search interface to limit to items that can be read in full online for free. On the Search line, select “Full view only.“
-
HathiTrust Digital Library – Joint repository of digitized items by a consortium of major universities.
-
Project Gutenberg – Thousands of digitized books, all freely available.
-
Open Library – A project of the non-profit Internet Archive.
- The Library of Congress has also produced a guide on searching for eBook content within their catalog.
- Directory of Open Access Books – Open licensed peer-reviewed academic books.
- The Online Books Page – University of Pennsylvania catalog of links to free books.
Download or Listen Online to OneClickdigital Audiobooks
Search the eAudiobook Collection.
For help getting started, see OneClickdigital’s Help for downloading and using eAudiobooks.
Freely available online
Washington State Library’s Public Portal for eAudiobooks.
LibriVox contains freely recorded audiobooks of public domain material.
The Internet Archive also has a section where you can “Listen to free audio books and poetry recordings! This library of audio books and poetry features digital recordings and MP3′s from the Naropa Poetics Audio Archive, LibriVox, Project Gutenberg, Maria Lectrix, and Internet Archive users.”
Our Reference Librarians (383-3285 | Chat | libref@whatcom.ctc.edu ) are always there to help you get the most out of this resource and to answer any questions you may have about downloading to your device.

